421, 25, 57, 4…

Numbers play an important job in all of our lives.  Everyone either counts down to something, celebrates longevity, or has “lucky numbers”.  Each of the above mean something to me (let’s see if you can guess…)

In the grand scheme of things, however, they are just numbers.  They bear no significance on our daily lives.  When you turn that calendar page, nothing different happens.  Shouldn’t we celebrate each day and look forward to the next.  No one day should bear more significance on our lives than another.  Such thinking gets us in trouble (wait, which version?  I guess both…ooo…philosopical…)  Placing more significance on one day over another leads to dangerous things.  As a woman currently wearing only one ring on my left hand (not two), I am now dealing with the issues of date significance.

06.25.11 will be the day that I wear a white dress and look into my best friends eyes and tell him and my family how much I love him.  In 421 days, I will be 25 years old, the same number that sits out front of my house.  There will be people who I love that will be celebrating their 57th anniversary on that very same day.  It will also be 4 years to the day that I met 2 of my favorite people on the planet.  For a day that holds so much significance in my life, it’s amazing that it was picked solely because it was “available”…

About ohsix25eleven

runner, professional smiler, New Yorker, baker, home-owner, event planner, knitter, reader, crocheter, writer, fun, out-of-place cowgirl, trying to maintain my sanity in a corporate world

Leave a Reply

