FIXED

Sooo, for the longest time (aka, like 5 months) my sewing machine has been broken…or so I thought…I carried it around in my car and meant to drop it off at the repair shop, then would get annoyed about spending $$$ fixing a mediocre machine and would want to buy a new one, then would get annoyed about spending $$$$ to get a new one, when I could just fix this one…yeah…welcome to my brain.

But here’s the thing about the sewing machine I have.  It was bought for me as a gift for my birthday in 2004.  By my ex-boyfriends mom.  Yeah…weird, unless you know the back story.

My xbf’s mom and I were close…weirdly close.  We would spend more time together than a normal high school girl and her boyfriends mom.  and we would mostly talk about cooking and crafts.  In essence, I was a 50 year old woman back in high school, and I loved every minute of it.  So for my birthday, she purchased me a sewing machine.

A lot of time has passed since then, and her and I have not communicated in a while.  I recently reached out to her to see how things were, and I got the expected response.  Everyone is fine.  Nothing more, nothing less.  My ex and I did not end on good terms, and it’s unfortunate that I lost more than him when we split.  I really miss her and miss all of the conversations we used to have.  I was killin my craft life when I had her inspiration, and i’ve been a bit dry as of late.

So last night, with all of this in mind, and missing my creativity late.  I threw back a couple glasses of wine, and decided that this was it, it was now-or-never.  I got my Ms. fix-it shoes on, and went to town.

A short while later, I stood, admiring my handiwork.  It was fixed!  I did it!

Check me out…Project Runway…here I come!

About ohsix25eleven

runner, professional smiler, New Yorker, baker, home-owner, event planner, knitter, reader, crocheter, writer, fun, out-of-place cowgirl, trying to maintain my sanity in a corporate world

Leave a Reply

